What Should I Do if I Get Pulled Over for DUI?
Nov. 20, 2022
That is a tough question and depends on the facts of your case. You should know what your rights are. Here are some tips.
Make sure the officer tells you why he pulled you over.
Follow officer instructions carefully on field sobriety tests.
Wait for the officer to tell you to begin when performing field sobriety tests.
Think before taking a PBT. If you know you will fail: refuse
If you refuse the in-station Intoximeter, Expect the MVA to suspend your license
You have the right to contact a lawyer before taking the in-station alcohol test
You have two hours from the time of your arrest to take the alcohol test
If your last drink was over 2 hours ago, a delay in taking the test will usually result in a lower reading
You can call The Law Office Phillips & Allen PA at 301-387-2800 and leave a message.
You can have the officer wait until you get a return call, even in the middle of the night. Don’t expect a return call at 2:00 a.m.
After 1.5 hours, to the time of your arrest, tell the officer that you will take the alcohol test.
If you are under 21, a PBT of .02 can result in a license suspension
If you have a CDL license you face stricter standards for DUI even in your personal car.
Even better yet, Don’t drink and drive!
Is My Refusal To Take A Preliminary Alcohol Screening Or To Submit To The Field Sobriety Test Enough For Probable Cause?
A refusal to take a field sobriety or PBT test does not create probable cause for an arrest. If you refuse, the officer can still find probable cause for a DUI arrest by using other facts. How bad was your driving? Does the officer smell alcohol on your breath? Did you slur your speech? Did you act confused? Were you uncooperative with the officer? Did the officer observe alcohol in your car?
What Are The Consequences Of A DUI In Maryland?
Being charged with a DUI will cause you financial loss and many headaches. Even if you are found innocent, you will need to pay for your lawyer to appear in both the District Court and the MVA driver’s license hearing.
If you are convicted, even for a first time, you face up to $1,000 in fines and a year in jail. You could lose your license or be forced to use an in-car breathalyzer for one year, for which you will pay.
Expect to be required to take alcohol education or treatment classes, at your cost.
Expect to see your auto insurance rates rise.
Maryland will never expunge your DUI conviction
When all is said and done, a DUI conviction will cost you $10,000 or more.
For more information on the Course Of Action After A DUI, a free initial consultation is your next best step.